Week 44: Last week was rough, it felt like hell.

Target Audience: General Public.

Last week was rough for me. I haven’t been to hell but it felt something like how I imagined it to be. I was hurt, bitterly hurt! I knew why too.

I would say I was angry too, but it was mainly a pained emotion. I was hurt by friends. Not one, two of them and it happened at different times the same day. This action was not from an intentional place from their side, but somehow I was hurt by it.

 I didn’t like that I was feeling that emotion mainly because of friends, and not necessarily because my school or family was stressing me or so. It had been long I felt that way because of friends too. I was sad. I had to ask myself whether it is that I had become too dependent on humans and if not, what would warrant that kind of mistake from their side?

These guys were of course truly and very remorseful when I pointed that I didn’t like what happened. It didn’t change the fact that I felt the emotion though, it just healed it. It made me just reflect on the fact that how is it that one never gets used to an emotion? It is not new to you, but every situation that warrants that emotion, you feel it deeply again.

It made me question why God left us with emotions. A powerful blessing and a “curse” that can mar someone’s life too. Curse is in quotation because I do not believe that when God gave us emotions, He decided to punish us with it too.

I’ve heard that emotions or feelings is not a powerful tool to make decisions with, and most times, one needs to be very logical about things before taking action. It also reminds me of one time that John 3:16 was dissected in front of me. That God gave (sacrificed ) His only son because He loved the world. Surely, He must know that this sacrifice would be vain in some people’s lives right?  But He still followed the part of Him that desired to save the creations He created. It’s made me realize emotions doesn’t necessarily make one weak. Yes, it shows vulnerability but there is power in it. The feeling is also there to help us transform to a better person and to make quality decisions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.