Week 22: The Acts of the Apostles.

Anytime I think of the early apostles, I marvel at how God used them mightily in their time. According to Luke’s account, Jesus had told them to tarry in the city until they get filled with power that comes from heaven. The Book of Acts also made us understand that Jesus had told them that this power is what marks the baptism of the Holy Spirit and this will happen only when the Holy Spirit comes UPON you.

It appeared that after they gathered together to pray on the day of Pentecost, that marked the beginning of great signs and wonders in ordinary men. Of course, Jesus was the first but I like to see Him as divine even though He came in flesh and dealt with humans’ desires too.

I digress. The way the Bible paints these men, even though we were made to see their flaws too, they showed so much power-ordinary men doing mighty signs and wonders just because the same spirit that was in Jesus was now in them. Healing the sick with handkerchiefs, shadows? That’s amazingly strange, who does that?

This is not even a post to scold today’s Christians on why we are not living up to the standard they left us with or on why it looks like this power is getting low as the day goes by. No, it’s not a post about that, for even now I believe that the latter glory of His house will be greater than the former(Haggai 2:9).

This post is particularly an appreciation post, though dead, their footprints recorded in the sands of time will live with us forever. They were the progenitors, the embodiers of the power of the Holy Spirit and His presence that has come to stay with us. They were great examples to the church, and through their lifestyle, we’ve been made to understand the life we’ve been called to live. We also now know that even as terrible times will tarry in the last days (2 Timothy 3), we’ve been called to a life of spiritual peace(John 14:25-27) in His spirit. It is on this mark that we will show forth God’s power in us and marvel at God’s wonders just as Jesus said(John 14:12).

And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high. Luke 24:49 KJV

For John truly baptized with water; but ye shall be baptized with the Holy Ghost not many days hence. But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judæa, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth. Acts 1:5, 8 KJV

The glory of this latter house shall be greater than of the former, saith the LORD of hosts: and in this place will I give peace, saith the LORD of hosts. Haggai 2:9 KJV

These things have I spoken unto you, being yet present with you. But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you. Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. John 14:25-27 KJV

Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father. John 14:12 KJV

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.