Week 1: Intentionality with God.

I remember Mike Todd saying, “this will be your best year ever if it is your best year spirituallyin one of his videos on Instagram posted perhaps by himself or on one of his followers’ pages. I already took that decision anyway to place Jesus as my utmost priority in 2022.

2021 was a year I strived to help myself financially in every way. I wouldn’t say I wasn’t trying to improve myself spiritually. I was working on that part too. I even joined the evangelism unit in my school fellowship after the workers-in-training so I could be much more responsible and devoted to God’s work.

 My financial goals, however, were not so fruitful.  Not even one of the things I wanted did I get. At the end of last year, I told myself I was going to renew this goal this year but not fiercely this time as much as closeness with God. This is not a post to say that money is not so important and we should be striving to build ourselves spiritually alone. This is also not a post to tell you I’m walking in wealth now only because I put God first. This is far from that. Just that I now believe I should be working on what is most important which my relationship with God is. To be honest, I also felt whatever happened was so I could die to my desires first.

Now my top priority is that I’m never too far from the word of God. What I desire is to no longer struggle with reading my Bible. I no longer want to attend meetings and look like I’m on fire for God out there without true intimacy with God in my closet.  Reading my Bible used to be once in a month thing and my prayer life was just there but not a consistent one.

 I made a conscious call to myself that the word of God is going to be my anchor this year and it’s only been the 24th of January and I can already tell that this is my best year yet. The intentionality from both sides is awesome. The knowing that God’s word is just so near to me and that His promises are no longer just written words engulf me.  I can feel His genuineness  and I can tell He desires the best for those that love Him.

This is a conscious call to you too. Life is much more realistic when you do it with God.  You’ve been missing out on His truth only because you are so far from Him.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope(Jeremiah 29:11 NKJV).

Those who do wickedly against the covenant he shall corrupt with flattery; but the people who know their God shall be strong, and carry out great exploits(Daniel 11:32 NKJV).

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success (Joshua 1:8 NKJV).

Shalom.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.