week 43: I have a friend.

Once, I had a friend. Had, because we are no longer within the same geographical location and we rarely talk now. But this person left so much of an impression on me. This person is a she.

I would like to mention her name, but I fear that her intoverted self may not like it if she should ever come across this. She was calm, collected and cool. She loved God. I think I need to emphasize on that a little more, she loved God so much. I know she is burning for God in her fellowship too, evident from her status updates and our once in a while convo, plus the people around her too.

Her life was admirable to me. She was an example to me, in terms of how I would love my relationship with God to be. She never really kept people close, she didn’t really care. She never wanted to be really attached to people too. She felt she was a very emotional person, and will not be able to withstand parting from her loved ones. I’m not sure this was her main reason for not keeping people close to her though, but she randomly mentioned it in one of my conversations with her implying that she was like that too.

I really admired her. She was brilliant, collected, and really had a genuine relationship with God. She literally didn’t care about the world. She had the best advice too. The mess she was in mattered to her though, but she cared even more about her relationship with God. I really admired her.

I knew I wanted her to be my friend till forever. We are no longer in the same space, but she is someone I pray that somehow that God walks her back into my life and make a constant person in my life at that. I’m also praying that when this happens, she would care more to be in friendship with people. She was someone that I felt I was privileged to know a little more about than others, from her talks, but even then, she still felt far away from me.

The faraway is not necessarily because she kept her distance and respected herself regardless of who alone, it was also because it looked like she really carried God. She had a heavy weight of God inside of her. It always felt that there was more to her, more to her wisdom, more that she can rub off on me, more that I can tap from her.  It is one reason why I would randomly badge into her DM to ask for advice on some situations. I respected God in her. I respect her. I respect God in her.

Lol, I don’t know how I’m supposed to end this write up, but it all really goes back to be getting wowed at God’s excellency evidenced by His diverse creations and how you can meet someone for the first time in your life, and know that you have met another heavy dimension of God. I’ve lived some years and all I can conclude is that there is never a time that will come that I will fully know God for He is eternity Himself.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.