Week 10: The Love of God has now become my strength and peace.

As I walked back to my room outside of campus on this fateful evening, I did a little reflection on my life and how God has really brought me this far. I had just finished evening prep at the teaching hospital. I was going back to my room and had to do a retrospective look on my life in the calmness of nature.

To be honest, it felt like the world paused for those few minutes, and that the center of attraction of the Earth was on me. It must be because the road back to my apartment was a desolated one, or that the street was very silent; the walk to my apartment was a peaceful and God-hearing walk.

 I walked on the faded grasses with a calmness and peace that felt new to me that evening. New; because the peace of the lord can never be a feeling that you get used to. It is always enriching, empowering and enough. It had been days or weeks since I last conversed with anyone closely on Whatsapp. It was mainly just my class groups or the random greetings that I replied to. I wasn’t posting status updates and I wasn’t reaching out to anyone too. No one was reaching out to me either, not even my loved ones or my parents. I then thought over my life again and how I would have started crying because I was feeling really lonely and unloved.

 What changed then?

It must be that the love of God has now become my strength and peace.

Even though, it felt as though I was alone in the world in my own space, I wasn’t feeling down. I wasn’t broken too. It was only a thought of, even if the whole world doesn’t like me, God loves me. I believe this was also very much evident by the sacrifice of His son and His Spirit in me testifying that I am free. I believe this is enough.

Regardless of how much of a sinner I can become again by works, God is always waiting for me even though He detests sin. He loves me so much. This is enough for me. The owner of this world, the creator of everyone, the one who judges everyone’s mind and knows what is wrong or right is in love with me. I am honored and that’s enough for me. I choose to walk primarily by this alone. The rest will be secondary. In my singleness, or any form of relationship, I choose to believe I am loved and enough. It is going to be God’s pick to bring the extras into my life when it is time in His eyes.  This is the life of freedom and peace I so desire. Alas! I am finally free. God is enough for me!

“The Lord gives his people strength. The Lord blesses them with peace.” Psalms 29:11 NLT

“And this righteousness will bring peace. Yes, it will bring quietness and confidence forever.”

 Isaiah 32:17 NLT

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.